Snackin’

Hi!

I miss posting here. I miss recipes, photos, even the writing, which is honestly my least favorite part. Not that I don’t enjoy writing, but 9 times out of 10 I sit here wondering what the hell I’m going to say, and I end up deleting 90% of my thoughts. Kind of like when you’re too embarrassed to write in your diary.

eggparty2

Instead of continuing to miss this blog and feeling like it’s an old friend I’ve been avoiding, I decided to post a snack. A simple snack that is colorful and beautiful.

eggparty

I took smoked salmon, a 6-minute egg, radish, creme fraiche, baby dill and capers, and piled it all on top of a triscuit. Sean took one look and decided there was no way he was eating it, but I happily ate all 6 and decided it was good enough to share.

Six Minute Egg Stack

makes 6 crackers

6 crackers ( I used triscuits, but I’m sure Wasa crackers (or any kind you like) would be good too)

1.5 oz smoked salmon

3 tbsp creme fraiche

1 6-minute egg

ice bath (for the egg)

fresh baby dill

2 tbsp capers

1 radish (rinsed and thinly sliced)

salt and pepper, to taste

Take your egg and gently set it in a medium sized saucepan. Cover the egg with one inch of cold water, and place saucepan over high heat. Let the water come to a rolling boil, then immediately take the pan off the heat. Cover for 6 minutes, then remove the egg with a slotted spoon. Gently crack the egg, then immediately place in the ice bath for one minute. After a minute, remove the egg, dry the shell, then crack and peel. Slice the egg into 6 slices. Set aside.

Lay out your six crackers and evenly distribute the smoked salmon. Top with a spoonful of creme fraiche, followed by a slice of egg for each cracker. Add the radish, capers and a sprinkle of dill. Finish with salt and pepper.

Serve immediately.

Leave a Reply

