Sips: A Drink Series

Lord help me. I want to start a drink series.

su

I never make cocktails at home. I always envy people who have amazing bar carts filled with glass tumblers and perfectly square ice cubes. While I don’t have a bar cart, I do have a burning desire to make more of an effort to make restaurant style cocktails at home. Sometimes I feel guilty going out to eat and spending a chunk of money on dinner and drinks. Like, I want to be chef, so shouldn’t I just make all this at home? So with that in mind, I wanted to start Sips. A way to document my thoughts and experiments with mixology.

Over the weekend I was playing around with whiskey concoctions. I rarely drink whiskey, so this was definitely challenging for me. I didn’t want to make a drink that was too sweet, but I also knew I had to add something to cut through the bitter Maker’s Mark. With that criteria in mind, I decided to try my hand at making an herb infused simple syrup. I used thyme for my herb, but you can honestly use whatever kind you want. I just steeped 3-4 sprigs of thyme in the simple syrup for about 2-3 hours, and then strained the syrup in a sieve.

After all that, I came up with something that I thought was worthy of a Sips post. Maker’s Mark with fresh orange juice, bitters and thyme simple syrup. A bit of a warning: this drink is semi strong. If you aren’t a whiskey fan, I would probably sit this one out.

pour

I happened to be making pasta dough while I was mixing this drink. Hence the fucking flour thumbprint. 😦

 

Maker’s with Fresh Orange Juice, Bitters and Thyme Simple Syrup

makes one drink

3 oz. Maker’s Mark (or whatever whiskey you prefer)

2 oz. fresh orange juice

2-3 dashes of Angostura Bitters

1.5 tbsp thyme simple syrup

4-5 ice cubes

cocktail shaker (with ice)

 

Combine ingredients in the cocktail shaker. Shake vigorously for 10-15 seconds, then pour over ice. Top with a sprig or two of thyme.

Serve immediately.

 

Thyme Simple Syrup

makes about 3/4 cup

1/2 cup sugar

1/2 cup water

3-4 sprigs of fresh thyme

Bring sugar and water to a boil over high heat. When the sugar has dissolved, remove from heat and add the thyme. Let the herbs steep in the syrup for 1-2 hours, then strain the syrup through a sieve. Keep syrup in a (tightly capped) jar in the refrigerator, up to two weeks.

Enjoy!

 

blur

 

 

5 thoughts on “Sips: A Drink Series

  1. Nice! I’ve been looking for some drinks for Thanksgiving and this looks like one I should try. It’s similar to one I’m testing that uses rosemary from “Shake” which is a book you should check out if you haven’t already. It’s fairly inspiring! Though honestly I usually just drink that “bitter” Maker’s Mark straight….:) Cheers! Looking forward to the next installment.

    • I actually got ‘Shake’ for my brother and SIL last Christmas! It’s a beautiful book.

      Rosemary drinks are so, so good. I’m really excited to play around with more flavors and combinations. Did you make a simple syrup with the rosemary? Or just use the herb whole?

  2. The only drinks I’m ever attracted to are like the uber girly pinterest drinks (toffee cake cream butter tequila baby love cocktail) that don’t even taste like alcohol (not that I’ve ever made one, but they look so pretty, I can’t imagine they get you drunk). DO THIS

Leave a Reply

