Apple Galette

Image

 

Apple Galette

serves 6

CRUST:

1 1/2 c. all purpose flour

1 1/2 tsp. sugar

1/3 c. ice water

1/2 tsp. salt

1 stick plus 2 tbsp. COLD butter, cut in small pieces

APPLE FILLING:

2 granny smith apples, peeled and cored

2 fuji apples (or whatever kind you want), peeled and cored

4 tbsp. sugar

1 tbsp. cinnamon

1 tsp. vanilla

1 lemon

honey

 

In a food processor, lightly pulse together flour, salt, sugar and butter and sprinkle in 1/3 cup ice water (it’s important the butter and water are both super cold), until dough barely comes together. There should still be small pieces of butter throughout.

Turn dough out onto plastic wrap, form into a ball and place in refrigerator for an hour.

While the dough chills, thinly slice your apples, and squeeze the juice of the lemon on top. Refrigerate until dough is ready.

Once the dough is ready, preheat the oven to 400 degrees. Take the dough and roll out into a circle (doesn’t have to be perfect), until it’s thin and evenly rolled out. Transfer to a baking sheet lined with parchment paper.

Grab your apples from the fridge and toss them with the cinnamon, sugar, the zest of the lemon and vanilla. Place the apples in the middle of the dough and fold the edges up so there’s about an inch or so of dough folded up around the apples.

Squeeze a bit of honey on top of the apples and finish with a sprinkle of cinnamon sugar and a few dabs of butter. Cook for 45 mins to an hour, or until the crust is golden and the apples are bubbly.

 

 

 

 

7 thoughts on “Apple Galette

  1. Hi, just wanted to say thanks for checking out my blog! It’s brand squeaky new and I really have no idea if it’s coming out “right”…. Ridiculously, I am doubling it by also creating it on blogspot because I can’t decide which platform is better? Thoughts? Also, that apple tart looks so lovely! I make a similar one in the summer with plums…(I usually eat the entire thing myself ) Thanks again~ kelly

    • Haha, that’s exactly what I said when I started my blog! I was worried about what I said, how it looked, I read tons of other blogs and compared what I did to them…anyway, I guess this is cliche, but just write whatever you want and don’t worry about what people say or think. Just post whatever you think is interesting! You know? Sometimes I still question what I post, wondering if I’m the only one who gets the joke, but whatever.

      Anyway, I really like wordpress, but I think it’s just personal preference. I really don’t do much on my blog except post pictures and a few paragraphs…so as far as which platform is better, I have NO idea. I’ve only used wordpress.

      And yes, plums would be so good in this! You should post yours when you make it this summer! I made a plum cake a while back.. I think it might be the first recipe I ever posted.

      I hope your weekend is lovely! Thanks for your comment 🙂

      • Thanks SO much for the feedback! I really appreciate it! I will dive in and try not to worry about the details, too much…
        The lemon curd made me smile. My father-in-law is addicted to that and we send it to him for every gift giving occasion. He generally just eats it with a spoon. Maybe he should try the ricotta cakes!
        Yes, happy weekend!!

Leave a Reply

