Root Vegetable Risotto

HELLO!

As I mentioned in my last post, I catered a baby shower for my mom’s friend on Saturday. I was beyond nervous to provide food for as many people as I did, but I was pretty happy with how it all turned out. I made a root vegetable risotto for the main dish and everyone seemed to love it. The only problem I ran into was that I cooked the risotto 2 hours before the party, and holy shit was it thick once I needed to reheat it. Seriously, if you’re making risotto, make it right before you serve. It was really hard for me to mix everything in, and risotto isn’t supposed to be thick. It should be creamy, but still pourable.

I used a basic risotto recipe that I’ve used for years, and roasted the veggies separately.

Image

I used a mix of carrot, turnip and butternut squash. Risotto is pretty great because you can really add anything you want. I knew I wanted to keep the menu seasonal, so that’s why I chose the veggies I did.

Image

Image

I hate cutting up butternut squash.

Image

Image

This recipe is for one, but you can easily double or triple it if you need to.

I hope everyone is staying warm in this cold ass weather!

Root Vegetable Risotto

serves 1

2 tbsp. butter

1/2 yellow onion, diced

1 c. arborio rice

1/4 c. dry white wine

5-6 c. chicken stock (or vegetable, or beef or even just water)

1 turnip (peeled)

1 carrot

1 butternut squash

Start by putting your stock in a saucepan and heating it through, then keeping it on simmer while you get the rice ready.

In a deep, heavy bottomed pot, melt the butter over medium-high heat. Add onions and stir until translucent, about 2 minutes. Add rice and cook for 2-3 minutes, stirring constantly. Add the wine and stir until evaporated.

Finally, add the stock one ladle at a time, until all the liquid is absorbed and the rice is still al dente. Don’t add tons of liquid at once, just do one ladle at a time, until it’s creamy. This will take between 30 and 45 minutes.

Roasted Veggies

Chop all veggies into 1 inch cubes and toss in olive oil and salt and pepper. Bake at 450 for 25 minutes, or until golden brown.

Add desired amount of veggies into risotto, combine and top with fresh Parmesan.

Serve immediately.

 

 

 

6 thoughts on “Root Vegetable Risotto

    • Thanks!

      Risotto is really tough. It’s easy to mess up, and it takes a long time. I would say my best advice is to be patient, and don’t overcook the rice. If you do, it will become a sticky mess and I’ve never found a successful way to thin it out.

      The best way to keep it from overcooking is just to pay attention and make sure you’re only adding one ladle of liquid at once. It’s tedious and I always want to add more to speed up the process, but it really screws with the final dish. Also, once the rice is al dente and the risotto itself is creamy and pourable, it’s done. Take it off the heat, and serve.

      I hope this helps, Maria!

Leave a Reply

