White Pizza with Roasted Garlic and Arugula

I have always been under the impression that the term white pizza means pizza without red sauce. If I’m incorrect, can someone let me know? I would hate to spread false rumors on this blog.

With that said, white pizza is something I really enjoy. It has always felt lighter to me than the classic with tomato sauce, and sometimes I actually prefer it over typical pizza. The cheese has always been my favorite part of pizza, so that is probably why I love this style so much. It really is all about the cheese.

Image

I decided to top this pie with arugula tossed in olive oil and lemon juice. While that might sound strange, it added a delicious bitterness that I loved.

Image

Image

Image

Since raw garlic can be a bit harsh, I decided to soften a couple cloves in olive oil to mellow out the flavor. I smashed them after they became soft and spread the garlic paste + infused olive oil all over the dough to act as the sauce.

Image

Image

I kept the toppings really simple after I put a bit of the arugula mixture on top. Some sea salt, pepper and parmesan cheese was really all it needed. You could add lots of other things if you wanted to, though. Sun dried or fresh tomatoes, caramelized onions, chorizo, etc. In fact, if anyone does add anything other than the arugula, please let me know! I would love to hear how it turned out.

White Pizza with Roasted Garlic and Arugula

serves 3-4

Dough:

1 .25 oz package active dry yeast

1 tsp white sugar

1 cup warm water

2 1/2 cups bread flour

2 tbsp olive oil

1 tsp sea salt

In a Kitchenaid mixer bowl, dissolve yeast and sugar in warm water. Let stand until frothy, about 10 minutes

Add flour, oil and salt to the wet mixture and combine using the dough attachment for 5 minutes. Once the dough is combined and it pulls away from the sides of the bowl, flip it onto a floured surface. Work the dough into a ball and let rest under a towel while you prepare the rest of the pizza.

Ingredients for Pizza:

8 cloves garlic, whole

1/2 cup olive oil

2 cups arugula

1/2 lemon

sea salt and pepper

1 1/2 cups mozzarella cheese

shredded parmesan cheese, for topping the pizza

Preheat the oven to 450 degrees.

Heat 1/2 cup of olive oil in a medium pan over medium heat until barely bubbling. Add 8 cloves of garlic and let them soften in the olive oil for 15-20 minutes. Take the pan on and off the heat to make sure the garlic doesn’t burn. You want it to be light golden brown.

When the garlic cloves are soft, remove them from the oil and smash them into a paste with a fork. Set aside and keep both the paste and the oil.

Next,take the dough and work it into desired shape. Place on a pizza stone or baking sheet and spread desired amount of garlic paste and infused oil onto the dough. Sprinkle the mozzarella cheese evenly on top and place in oven to bake for 12-15 minutes.

When the pizza is light golden brown and bubbly, take it out of the oven and let it rest for 5 minutes.

Toss arugula with a drizzle of olive oil and lemon juice. Pile the arugula mixture on top of the pizza and finish with parmesan, sea salt and pepper.

Slice and serve immediately.

 

 

 

 

 

 

4 thoughts on “White Pizza with Roasted Garlic and Arugula

  1. This looks awesome! I’ll definitely have to give it a try if I can scrounge up some arugula! Also, re: white pizza. I’ve always had it as a pizza with an alfredo-y type sauce, and less commonly without sauce.

Leave a Reply

