25

Last night I threw a surprise party for Sean. It had been planned for weeks, and I was so ready to get the surprise over with. I’m the worst at keeping secrets and there were times this week I literally had to force myself to walk out of the room before I blew it. Needless to say, Sean was almost too surprised. Like, he didn’t even realize the party was for him until 15 minutes in.

Image

I was a horrible planner and didn’t even plan a menu until the day of. I had ideas floating around for a while and then all of the sudden it was Friday, and I had to haul ass on my lunch break and buy food + cupcakes.

Image

I ended up making quesadillas with chicken, cheese, grilled peppers and onions, watermelon salad with fresh mint, grilled peaches with balsamic glaze and bleu cheese, plus delicious cupcakes from a bakery across town. My dad was a huge help and made phyllo wrapped asparagus and potato gruyere puffs.

Image

Image

Image

Image

We turned off the lights and sang to my boy. I made sure to sing really softly so no one could hear me. I’m always afraid someone will judge my voice when I’m singing happy birthday.

Image

Image

This is Evie. She’s my friend’s baby and I love her with all my heart.

Image

Evie looks unsure, but she loves it when I hold her.

Image

Look at Sean in his jean shirt! I love this man more than anything and I can’t wait to spend our lives together. I’ve loved him since I was 14 and he makes my heart so happy.

Image

Making new words with the happy birthday candles.

It was a beautiful night, and I’m so grateful for the people in our lives who came out to celebrate Sean.

 

I’ll be back Sunday with a pasta post!

 

Leave a Reply

