Plum Cake with Fresh Vanilla Cream

I made a plum cake tonight.

I waited all day to make it. I finally got home and started putting things together when I realized I forgot to buy eggs. For anyone that knows me, this isn’t surprising because I forget things all the time, but it doesn’t make it any less annoying.

Image

Image

This cake was SO GOOD. It’s not overly sweet, so if you like your desserts sugary sweet, I would sprinkle a tablespoon or two of powdered sugar on top after baking. The plums that I used were a bit tart and firm, which I liked, but if you want the plums to be on the softer side, choose ones that are really ripe.

Image

I found this recipe while reading The Seattle Times. I honestly just stumbled across it, but it’s a great recipe and I would definitely use it again. I would love to try strawberries or mixed fruit next time. The author suggested serving the cake with ice cream or whipped cream, so I decided to make my own vanilla whipped cream. It’s really simple if you have a KitchenAid stand mixer or hand mixer.

Image

If anyone tries this recipe and has any suggestions, please email me or leave a comment!

Image

Plum Cake with Fresh Vanilla Cream

adapted from The Seattle Times

serves 8

1 stick unsalted butter

1 1/4 c. sugar

2 c. flour

2 tsp. baking powder

3 eggs

juice and zest of two lemons

1/2 tsp. salt

5 ripe, but firm plums

Preheat oven to 350 degrees and grease a 13×9 cake pan.

Slice plums into medium sized pieces and set aside.

Cream together the butter and sugar until light and fluffy. Add eggs, lemon juice, zest and mix well. Once that is combined, add the flour and the rest of the dry ingredients. Mix well. The batter will be very thick, but it’s supposed to be.

Pour the batter mixture into the greased cake pan and spread around evenly. Arrange the sliced plums on top.

Bake at 350 for 40 minutes, or until golden brown and a toothpick comes out clean.

Whipped Cream

3 c. heavy cream

4 tbsp. sugar

2 tsp. vanilla

Using a stand up mixer or hand mixer, beat the cream, sugar and vanilla mixture on high until light and fluffy.

2 thoughts on “Plum Cake with Fresh Vanilla Cream

  1. Wow!!! It’s certainly a beautiful cake. I also think its a great post because it’s an easy enough recipe that people without much cooking experience will try to make it. You also gave great tips on how to make the cake to each persons liking. Now I expect for you to bring some of it over for me to try!

Leave a Reply

